Department of Commerce

The Institute of Chartered Accountants of India (New Delhi) is a statutory body established by an Act of Parliament, viz. The Chartered Accountants Act, 1949 (Act No XXXVIII of 1949) for regulating the profession of Chartered Accountancy in the country. ICAI has designed a very vibrant and dynamic structure of the CA course.

At RCSS, School of Commerce, students can pursue Chartered Accountancy course up to Intermediate level along with their three years of B.Com. They will be consistently guided and mentored by qualified professionals.

This course is offered as add-on with B.Com Model 1 Finance and Taxation

Semester Preparation
1st Foundation
2nd and 3rd Intermediate Group 1
4th and 5th Intermediate Group 2

The papers under each level are as under :

Foundation Level

  • Paper-1: Principles and Practice of Accounting
  • Paper-2: Business Laws and Business Correspondence and Reporting
  • Paper-3: Business Mathematics and Logical Reasoning & Statistics
  • Paper-4: Business Economics and Business and Commercial Knowledge

Intermediate –Group 1

  • Paper-1: Accounting
  • Paper-2: Corporate and Other Laws
  • Paper-3: Cost and Management Accounting
  • Paper-4: Taxation

Intermediate Group 2

  • Paper-5: Advanced Accounting
  • Paper-6: Auditing and Assurance
  • Paper-7: Enterprise Information Systems & Strategic Management
  • Paper-8: Financial Management & Economics for Finance

The students shall be offered the following certifications during the course of the program

  1. KASE CERTIFICATION – Foundation Program in Banking and Financial Services
  2. Certification in IFRS


Association of Chartered Certified Accountants, UK (ACCA)

Founded in 1904, the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants, UK (ACCA) is the world’s fastest-growing gateway to the accountancy profession offering the Chartered Certified Accountant qualification (ACCA or FCCA) in more than 170 countries. ACCA have over 208,000 members and 503,000 students with over 7,300 Approved Employers and over 80 accountancy partnerships around the world. ACCA aims to offer business-relevant, first-choice qualifications to people of application, ability and ambition around the world who seek a rewarding career in accountancy, finance and management.


ACCA Qualification

To be a Chartered Certified Accountant, one must pass all the 13 papers which are divided into three different levels;

  • Applied Knowledge Level consist of 3 papers
  • Applied Skill Level consist of 6 papers
  • Strategic Professional Level consist of 2 compulsory and 2 out of 4 optional papers.


ACCA at Rajagiri: Integrated Program

  • Rajagiri College of Social Sciences is the premier college in Kerala having MoU with ACCA, UK.
  • B.Com Model 2 F&T got accredited and integrated with ACCA UK qualification.
  • Students pursuing B.Com Model 2 F&T shall be eligible for exemption of 9 ACCA papers i.e. applied knowledge level and applied skill level papers.
  • Students shall be prepared for the Strategic Professional Level (non-exempted) ACCA papers as part of add on classes.
  • The classes are conducted by international and national professionally qualified experts.
  • ACCA Rajagirians have record success rate of + 80 % in last two years.


ACCA Syllabus

  • Applied Knowledge Level

There are three Applied Knowledge exams:

  • AB: Accountant in Business
  • MA: Management Accounting
  • FA: Financial Accounting


  • Applied Skill Level

There are six Applied Skills exams:

  • LW: Corporate and Business Law
  • PM: Performance Management
  • TX: Taxation
  • FR: Financial Reporting
  • AA: Audit and Assurance
  • FM: Financial Management


  • Strategic Professional Level

There are four Strategic Professional exams:

These include two compulsory modules

  • SBL: Strategic Business Leader
  • SBR: Strategic Business Reporting.

Students need to opt two further courses that suit their career ambitions from:

  • AFM: Advanced Financial Management
  • APM: Advanced Performance Management
  • ATX: Advanced Taxation
  • AAA: Advanced Audit and Assurance.

The students shall be provided training and examination preparation for various certification in the field of Finance and Information Technology, namely

  • KASE CERTIFICATION – Foundation Program in Banking and Financial Services
  • SAP

CERTIFICATIONS are offered as add-on with B.Com Model 1 Computer Application

Click here for Add- On Course FAQs